One in a Million (Rivalries #1) (Hardcover)

One in a Million (Rivalries #1) By Janet Dailey Cover Image
$27.00
Usually Ships in 3-7 Days

Description


Yellowstone meets Dallas against the backdrop of Texas horse country, as the death of a patriarch leaves his rich and powerful ranching family dynasty at odds, a high-stakes reining competition in the balance, and forbidden attractions in the mix.

Fans of Linda Lael Miller, Danielle Steel, and Diana Palmer will devour this soapy saga filled to the brim with Texas-style drama, corruption, money, and sizzling affairs.


Frank Culhane may be the wealthy patriarch of one of Texas’ most prestigious families, but his party girl daughter, Jasmine, is only interested in the money the ranch brings in—and the cowboys. Until the day she heads to the stables in search of their hot horse trainer and instead discovers her daddy’s body in their prize stallion’s box stall.

Roper’s rodeo career was cut short by an injury. Now, he’s hungry to compete in reining events, like the prized forthcoming Run for a Million. In the meantime, until his family can afford their own breeding business, he’s got to work for the rich ranchers who snub them—including the Culhanes. But when an autopsy reveals Frank was murdered, Roper lands on the list of possible suspects.

A city outsider, Detective Sam Rafferty’s investigation propels him into a tangle of simmering rivalries. For the ranch is now in the hands of an explosive partnership: Frank’s young, glamourous second wife, Lila, and his scorned first wife, Madeline. Lila has a genuine passion for ranching. Madeline is determined to destroy her.

Through Sam’s interviews, more tensions surface—there are Madeline’s grown children who’ve been bypassed for control of the ranch, the socially dismissed McKennas, and the breeders, politicians, and gangsters ready to profit from Frank’s death. But tricky alliances are also brewing. While Lila and Roper clash, they discover a fire beneath their sparring. And with a killer still at large, the heat between Jasmine and Sam could put the case, and all their futures, on the line . . .

About the Author


Janet Dailey was born and raised in the small farming town of Storm Lake, Iowa and attended secretarial school in Omaha, Nebraska before meeting her husband and settling in southern Missouri.  After publishing her first novel in 1976, she went on to become one of the top-selling female authors in the world, with more than 325 million copies of her books sold in nineteen languages in ninety-eight countries. Dubbed “America’s First Lady of Romance” because her groundbreaking novels celebrate the triumphs and struggles of working class women with American values and themes, she is known for her strong, decisive characters, her extraordinary ability to re-create a time and a place, and her unerring courage to confront important, controversial issues in her stories. To learn more about Janet Dailey and her novels, please visit JanetDailey.com or find her on Facebook at Facebook.com/JanetDaileyAuthor.

Praise For…


Praise for the Novels of Janet Dailey
 
“Dailey highlights the brutal reality of survival in the American West while building a sprawling, emotional love story for Joe and
Sarah. Both fans and newcomers to Dailey’s novels will be pleased.” Publishers Weekly on Calder Brand
 
“Janet Dailey is always a great and wonderful read and will have you wanting to get to know the entire Calder family.” Fresh Fiction on Calder Brand
 
"Twists and surprises will keep the pages of this warm-hearted romance turning." Publishers Weekly on Texas Forever
 
"Readers have been waiting more than a year for the next installment in author Janet Dailey's New Americana series, and it has finally arrived. Letters from Peaceful Lane gives readers a deeply personal view of life in the Ozark Mountains." Woman's World
 
"Dailey gives readers a steadily paced novel showcasing the harsh realities that many second marriages undergo. The detailed character development shines...adding nuance to the contemporary romances. Fans of Susan Wiggs and Debbie Macomber will enjoy the third in Dailey's New Americana series, which emphasizes that family struggles can be overcome, and love will always prevail." Booklist on Letters from Peaceful Lane
 
"As captivating as it is swoon-worthy." First for Women on Hart's Hollow Farm
 
"Wonderful." Cowgirl Magazine on Sunrise Canyon


Product Details
ISBN: 9781496744807
ISBN-10: 1496744802
Publisher: Kensington
Publication Date: January 23rd, 2024
Pages: 336
Language: English
Series: Rivalries