Thirteen Ways to Kill Lulabelle Rock (Paperback)

Thirteen Ways to Kill Lulabelle Rock By Maud Woolf Cover Image
$18.99
Usually Ships in 3-7 Days

Description


A washed up star creates a clone tasked with eliminating other clones of herself; a whip-smart and thrilling sci-fi read that's perfect for fans of Orphan Black, Killing Eve and Keeping it Real by Justina Robson.

Her purpose is to track down and eliminate her predecessors. Simple, right?

In the glitz and glamour of Bubble City even a washed-up film star simply has too much to do, too many places to be. Thank heavens for clones. Lulabelle Rock has twelve, doing the tiresome celebrity rounds.

But times have changed: you can have too much of a good thing. And time is up for the twelve Lulabelles. A thirteenth clone, an assassin is created.

Killing yourselves should be easy. We’re talking clones, not people; it’s not murder. Not really. But love has a way of complicating things… 


“An addictively enthralling SF thriller with razor sharp prose, cinematic scenes and a surprisingly tender exploration of the highs an lows of life and finding love.”
– Nils Shukla, Fantasy Hive


File Under: Science Fiction [ Blade Runner Barbie | Time to Kill | All of Me | Tarot Reading ]

About the Author


Maud Woolf is a Scottish speculative writer with a particular focus on horror and science fiction. Her work has appeared in a variety of online magazines, including Metaphorosis Magazine where her short story ‘The Stranding’ was selected to appear in the Best of Metaphorosis 2020. Over the course of her life she's worked a number of jobs including waitressing, comic book selling, sign holding and as a tour guide at a German dollhouse museum. When not exploring Glasgow's labyrinthine system of abandoned tunnels she spends most of her free time watching old hollywood films and attempting to knit.

Praise For…


"This is an engaging investigation of fame, personality and learning to know one’s own worth."
– The Guardian

"A dazzling noirish romp... By turns sad, introspective, and defiantly optimistic, this tale of self-hatred, self-love, and self-discovery delights."
– Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Ideal for fans of Orphan Black and Killing Eve, this near-future tech-noir is guaranteed to entrance as much as it perplexes."
– Library Journal

"In Thirteen Ways to Kill Lulabelle Rock, Maud Woolf playfully and skilfully explores an intriguing premise - a protagonist created to kill her own clones. Blade Runner meets Killing Eve in this clever and funny speculative thriller."
— Guy Morpuss, author of Five Minds and Black Lake Mirror

“A doppeltastic delight that explores identity and skewers celebrity culture.”
— Ever Dundas,
author of Goblin
and HellSans

Thirteen Ways is iridescent, drawing you in with all its shiny colours and propelling you through the mystery and horror of Lulabelle Rock and Bubble City. It’s complicated. And really quite brilliantly simple.”
— Joma West,
author of Face

“Original, funny and heartbreaking in equal measure, Thirteen Ways to Kill Lulabelle Rock is a brilliantly assured debut. Woolf's razor-sharp wit and prose delivers a unique, contemporary and existential thriller which had me hooked from the premise to the final page!”
— Adam Southward,
author of the Alex Madison series

"Lulabelle Rock is a must-read for fans of Black Mirror, Blake Crouch, and sci-fi that passes the Bechdel test. I don't often see books in this genre that can balance speculative elements with this much heart. Woolf is a debut author to watch."
— Amber, @seekingdystopia 

"Thirteen Ways to Kill Lulabelle Rock is an addictively enthralling sci-fi thriller with razor sharp prose, cinematic scenes and a surprising tender exploration of experiencing the highs and lows of life and finding love."
— Nils Shukla, The Fantasy Hive

"Thirteen Ways to Kill Lulabelle Rock is a debut that is as riveting as it is emotionally charged. It is one that sunk its claws in early and kept moving right along with its imaginative storytelling and sardonic humor. Woolf is an author to keep an eye on." 
— FanFiAddict

"Gentle and dark in equal parts, Woolf’s debut highlights the importance of balance, rest, and asking just enough of oneself. A riveting read."
— Shazzie, Fantasy Book Critic

“This book altered my brain chemistry. I’ll forever be fascinated by Lulabelle and her portraits.”
— Charli, @bookishcharli

"An insightful look at the unrealities of fame, this book explores identity and independence in a near future setting. The Lulabelles are as memorable and heartbreaking as they are unique. Woolf leaves the reader feeling thoughtful and introspective with her debut novel."
— Fiction Fans Podcast

"With Thirteen Ways to Kill Lulabelle Rock, it’s like Maud Woolf has joined forces with Tarantino and Edgar Wright to rip apart the crime/thriller genre, then remould it into something bad-ass and new. A genre-smashing, satire-mashing, ideas-packed gem of a novel."
– Adam Simcox, author of the Dying Squad trilogy

“Such a thought provoking and poignant read , makes you think, makes you feel, makes you just stop - fantasy at its best.”
– Steph, @bookslovereaders 

"A rollicking action-thriller, a clever satire on fame, and a touching meditation on identity – Thirteen Ways to Kill Lulabelle Rock lives more lives than its cloned protagonist, each and every one of them a deep delight."
– Katie Williams, author of Tell The Machine Goodnight

"The action may capture your imagination, but the heart of the novel is to be found in the space in between...It’s fast-paced and fun, but there is so much more going on should you choose to accept it."
- SNACK Magazine

"This brilliant, unexpectedly moving satirical sci-fi debut explores themes of identity and ethics in wildly inventive fashion....Boasting finely-crafted character insights, clever Tarot references, and a killer twist, Thirteen Ways to Kill Lulabelle Rock is also pretty darn profound: “We are what we do, and when we having nothing to do, we are nothing”."
- LoveReading

"This futuristic debut novel is smart, pacy, intelligent and surprisingly moving."
- Stuart Kelly, The Scotsman

"A well-written debut with a loveable main character, Thirteen Ways To Kill Lulabelle Rock is a fresh, funny and feel-good story."
- Books, Bones, Buffy

"Unique, unpredictable, and uncanny...the structure of the novel flowed well, with quick and consistent pacing to maintain momentum."
- The Badger


Product Details
ISBN: 9781915202901
ISBN-10: 1915202906
Publisher: Angry Robot
Publication Date: January 9th, 2024
Pages: 240
Language: English