More Perfect (Temi Oh) (Paperback)

More Perfect (Temi Oh) By Temi Oh Cover Image
By Temi Oh
$19.99
Usually Ships in 3-7 Days

Description


A reimagining of the Greek myth of Eurydice and Orpheus, for fans of Becky Chambers and William Gibson by Alex Award–winning author Temi Oh.

Using the myth of Eurydice as a structure, this riveting science fiction novel is set in a near-future London where it has become popular for folks to have a small implant that allows one access to a more robust social media experience directly as an augmented reality. However, the British government has taken oversight of this access to an extreme, slowly tilting towards a dystopian overreach, all in the name of safety.

About the Author


Temi Oh wrote her first novel, Do You Dream of Terra-Two? while studying for a BSci in Neuroscience. It won the American Library Association’s Alex Award in 2020 and was an NPR Books We Love pick in 2019. She has written stories for Marvel’s Black Panther, Dr Who and Overwatch. Her second novel, More Perfect was published by Simon and Schuster in May 2023.Her first short film Murmur was funded by Sky Arts and the BFI. Since then, she has written on the Netflix TV series Castlevania: Nocturne and the CBBC series Silverpoint

Praise For…


“…The plotting is tightly crafted, weaving science fiction, mythology, and more to tell a tale that feels pertinent right now. An emotional tale exploring light and dark and the gray areas in change and progress.” – Kirkus starred review

 

"...Tension increases in an unnervingly believable struggle for the future. The story of Moremi and Orpheus has classical antecedents but with a satisfying eye for the future." – Booklist

 

"Dystopian fans will appreciate Oh’s incisive and nuanced take on technology’s place in society." – Publishers Weekly

 

“Drawing on ancient Greek myths and modern brain science, this is a plausible, complex vision of the future, a fascinating story that never shies away from the contradictions in human nature.” – The Guardian

 

Named a Most Anticipated Book of 2023 by Apple Books, Men’s Health, CrimeReads, Polygon, Goodreads, Gizmodo, and more.

“A beautifully written tale of two people whose love is caught in a battle for the minds of humankind is moving, powerful, and deeply human.”
-Locus Magazine

"

The best canonical sci-fi puts the thinnest veil on reality to show us just how close we are to the world we fear. The London you encounter in Temi Oh’s More Perfect is grittily familiar – making the near future she paints queasily plausible, including the brain implant that is being forced on citizens and the political chaos this foments. It weaves an intriguing tapestry of references, from the classical story of Eurydice to the neuroscience of consciousness, set against a drumbeat of dread."
-New Scientist

“Oh has written a stunning dystopian tale that contemplates the future of augmented reality, and who controls it, through a heartrending love story.” 
-Library Journal, STARRED REVIEW

* “The plotting is tightly crafted, weaving science fiction, mythology, and more to tell a tale that feels pertinent right now. An emotional tale exploring light and dark and the gray areas in change and progress.” Kirkus, STARRED REVIEW

 

"...Tension increases in an unnervingly believable struggle for the future. The story of Moremi and Orpheus has classical antecedents but with a satisfying eye for the future." – Booklist

 

"Dystopian fans will appreciate Oh’s incisive and nuanced take on technology’s place in society." – Publishers Weekly

 

“Drawing on ancient Greek myths and modern brain science, this is a plausible, complex vision of the future, a fascinating story that never shies away from the contradictions in human nature.” – The Guardian

 

Named a Most Anticipated Book of 2023 by Apple Books, Men’s Health, CrimeReads, Polygon, Goodreads, Gizmodo, and more.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781982142834
ISBN-10: 1982142839
Publisher: S&S/Saga Press
Publication Date: August 15th, 2023
Pages: 592
Language: English
Series: Temi Oh